Private Label Skincare Manufacturers in China (Top 10)
Search "private label skincare manufacturer China" and you get two kinds of results: directory listings with thousands of unverified suppliers, and ranked lists written by factories that put themselves at number one. Neither helps you make a decision.
A disclosure before anything else: we are a Guangzhou skincare manufacturer ourselves. That is exactly why this article does not rank anyone. A supplier cannot credibly score its own competitors, so instead of a verdict, what follows is the comparison method — the fields that matter, where each one can be independently verified, and what to ask when a figure is not published. Our own details sit in the last section, held to the same fields as everyone else.
The honest starting point: there is no single best private label skincare manufacturer in China. A factory that is excellent for a brand ordering 200,000 sheet masks is the wrong choice for a brand launching a 1,000-unit serum. What follows is organised so you can build your own shortlist against your order size, formulation complexity, and target market.
The Five Fields That Decide a Shortlist
Most supplier comparisons collapse because they mix two different things: figures a factory has published, and impressions from a sales conversation. Only the first kind is comparable. These five fields are the ones a buyer needs as specifics rather than adjectives, and each has a verification route.
| Field | Why it decides the shortlist | How to verify it yourself |
|---|---|---|
| Certifications, with issuing body | Determines which markets you can enter and which audits you will pass | Ask for the certificate number and issuer, then check it on that body's own register. A logo is not evidence. |
| Stated capacity | Shows whether your volume is routine or exceptional on those lines | Ask for units per day by format, in writing. Tonnage and unit counts are not interchangeable. |
| MOQ per SKU | The field most likely to disqualify a factory for a first launch | Get it per SKU and per format, and have it written into the contract rather than quoted in email. |
| Sampling time | Separates stock-formula work from bench development | Ask for it separately for an existing formula and for custom development with stability data. |
| Production lead time | Sets your launch calendar, and slips most often over definitions | Confirm it runs from formula and packaging sign-off, not from enquiry, and what sits inside the window. |
The pattern worth internalising: a factory that publishes fewer of these is not necessarily worse, but it does shift the verification work onto you. Treat a blank field as a question to ask, not a mark against the supplier.
Before the table, the disclosure test applied to ourselves, since it is only fair to go first: GZ Cosmetics Lab is the one manufacturer here that publishes all five fields. MOQ 3,000 bottles or jars and 5,000–10,000 sheets per SKU; sampling 5–7 days on an existing formula and 10–15 days for custom development; production 35–45 days from sign-off; 13 lines running to 200,000 units a day; ISO 22716, GMPC, ISO 9001, 14001, 45001 and Halal, all issued by Intertek and quotable by certificate number.
That is not offered as proof we are the strongest formulator in the table — disclosure and formulation skill are different things, and nothing on a public page substitutes for a sample. It is offered so you have a filled-in row to measure the others against. Ask the nine below for the same five figures, and the replies will sort your shortlist faster than any ranking could.
Ten Manufacturers, and What Each One Publishes
The ten below are widely shortlisted for China private label skincare, and we are one of them. They are listed alphabetically, because we are in this table and any other order would mean us arranging our own competitors. The count in the second column shows how many of the five fields above each manufacturer publishes openly — read it as how much verification work is left to you, not as a score. A factory publishing one field may be the right fit once you have asked for the rest directly.
| Manufacturer | Fields published | Category focus | Stated certifications | MOQ per SKU | To confirm yourself |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aurora Cosmetics | 1 / 5 | Ready-made formula library, low volume | ISO 22716, GMP | Described as low; no figure published | The actual minimum, and scope for original formula development |
| Bawei Biotechnology | 2 / 5 | Personal care at volume, since 2006 | GMPC, FDA, CE, CPSR, SEDEX | Not published | Sampling and production lead times |
| Bloomage Biotech | 1 / 5 | Hyaluronic acid and bioactives | Described as GMP and ISO compliant; scope not specified | Not published | Which certificates apply, and whether it markets consumer brands in your category |
| COSMAX China | 1 / 5 | Broad skincare at large volume | ISO 22716, cGMP | Not published | Whether your volume meets their entry threshold |
| Easycare (伊斯佳) | 1 / 5 | Scalp and hair care, facial anti-ageing | Publishes a GMP workshop class; certificate numbers and issuer not stated publicly | Not published | Certificate numbers and issuing bodies |
| GZ Cosmetics Lab — our own factory, Guangzhou | 5 / 5 | Active-led skincare, export documentation | ISO 22716, GMPC, ISO 9001, 14001, 45001, Halal — issued by Intertek | 3,000 bottles or jars; 5,000–10,000 sheets | Our scale against your growth plan; whether 10–15 day custom sampling fits your calendar |
| Jahen (嘉亨家化) | 2 / 5 | Skincare, home care, plastic packaging | ISO 9001, 14001, 45001, 22716, GMPC, SA8000, BRCGS, CNAS lab | Not published | Fit for smaller launch volumes, and whether skincare or packaging would run your order |
| Nox Bellcow | 2 / 5 | Sheet masks, automated lines | ISO 9001, ISO 22716, GMP, CNAS labs | Not published | Liquid skincare capability beyond masks |
| Opal Cosmetics Group | 1 / 5 | Body care, hair care | BRC, GMPC, ISO 22716, ISO 9001, FDA, Halal | Not published | Depth in leave-on facial actives specifically |
| XIRAN Skincare | 1 / 5 | Natural and organic positioning | GMPC, ISO 22716, FDA, BSCI | Not published | Which organic standard, if any, applies to your formula |
Two honest caveats on that count. It reflects what each manufacturer publishes in English through its own public channels, so a figure given readily on enquiry would not appear here. And it says nothing about formulation skill, which no public field captures — the only way to test that is a sample.
Not sure which route fits your product?
Send us your brief and our formulators will tell you what is realistic on formula, MOQ, and timeline before you commit to anything.
What a Published MOQ Actually Tells You
Nine of the ten do not publish an MOQ. That is normal rather than evasive: minimums genuinely move with format, packaging, and raw material availability, so one number would misdescribe most enquiries. Packaging often sets the floor, which is why the same serum can carry different minimums in a stock bottle and a custom one.
Still, the pattern is worth reading, because what a supplier is willing to state before you enquire tells you something about how the commercial relationship will run. Three practical uses:
- A published figure is a commitment you can hold. A number on a public page can be quoted back during negotiation. A number given verbally cannot, which is why the field belongs in the contract either way.
- An unpublished MOQ is not a high MOQ. Large groups and small workshops both leave it blank, for opposite reasons. Ask before assuming you are too small.
- Ask for the whole set at once — MOQ per format, sampling on existing and custom formulas, and production time from sign-off. A supplier who answers all four in one reply is showing you how the next twelve months will go.
We publish ours because our buyers are mostly comparing three or four factories at once, and a factory that cannot be compared tends to be dropped before the conversation starts. It is a commercial choice, not a virtue, and any factory here could make the same one.
What Each Certificate Actually Covers
Certification lists are where shortlists most often go wrong, because the logos look interchangeable and are not. This is the single most useful thing to get straight before comparing anyone, and it applies to every factory equally.
- ISO 22716 — cosmetics Good Manufacturing Practice. Covers production, storage, and documentation processes. It is the baseline expectation for an export-facing skincare factory, not a differentiator.
- GMPC — a cosmetics GMP certification scheme, commonly issued against ISO 22716 requirements. Ask which body issued it.
- ISO 9001 / 14001 / 45001 — quality management, environmental management, and occupational health and safety respectively. Management-system certifications: they describe how the organisation is run, not the safety of a specific formula.
- BSCI, SEDEX, SA8000 — social compliance and labour-condition audits. These do not substantiate product quality or organic claims. Buyers frequently misread them as quality marks.
- CPSR — Cosmetic Product Safety Report, the safety assessment dossier required for the EU market. Capability here matters for EU entry specifically.
- BRCGS — a consumer-products standard originating in retail supply chains. Relevant if your retail buyer asks for it.
- ISO 13485 — medical device quality management. Its presence signals other product lines; it does not make a cosmetic formula medical.
- Halal — a gating requirement in several markets. Confirm which certifying body, since acceptance varies by destination country.
- CNAS accreditation — applies to a laboratory's testing competence, meaning in-house test data carries more weight. It is not a factory-wide certification.
One practical consequence: the longest certificate list is not the strongest one. A broad list can mix product, management, and labour standards, while a shorter list of the right certificates may fit your market better. Match the list against the market you are entering.
The practical test: ask for the certificate number and the issuing body, then check it against that body’s own register. Ours are issued by Intertek and we hand over the numbers on request — not as a courtesy, but because a certificate that cannot be checked is not evidence, whoever is holding it.
Which Figures Can Be Checked, and Which Only Verified in Person
Every figure in a supplier comparison falls into one of three evidence classes. Sorting them this way matters more than sorting suppliers, because it tells you where to spend your limited verification effort — and it applies to us exactly as it applies to everyone else in the table.
Checkable by a third party, today, without the factory's help. Certifications belong here and almost nothing else does. Every certification body maintains a register; a certificate number either resolves against it or it does not. Test-lab accreditation works the same way through the accrediting body. Treat this class as the floor: if a supplier will not give you certificate numbers, you have learned something before spending any further time.
Verifiable on paper, but only if you ask for it correctly. MOQ, lead time, sampling time, and capacity live here. None can be confirmed from outside, but all can be pinned down: request them on company letterhead as part of the quotation, per SKU and per format, with lead time explicitly counted from sign-off. A supplier willing to put a number into a contractual document is telling you something a marketing page cannot — and a number that moves between the website, the email, and the contract is the single most useful warning sign in this process.
Only verifiable in person or through a sample. Formulation skill, how deviations get handled mid-run, whether documentation stays accurate under pressure, and how the factory behaves when something goes wrong. No public field captures any of this. It is why a sample and, for a serious programme, an audit or a video walkthrough of the specific line remain irreplaceable.
The reason to hold this distinction: most comparison effort gets spent on the third class, where evidence is weakest, and almost none on the first, where it is conclusive and free. Check the certificates first. Get the operational figures in writing second. Then spend your remaining time on samples rather than on further reading.
Matching a Manufacturer to Your Order Size
Order size narrows a shortlist faster than any other single field, because it determines whether you are a routine order or an exception on a given line.
Under 1,000 units per SKU. Expect ready-made formula libraries with fragrance and colour adjustment. Original formulation is generally not available at this volume anywhere, because bench development and stability testing cost the same whether you order 500 units or 50,000. Verify what "customisation" includes before assuming it means a new formula.
1,000 to 100,000 units per SKU. The widest band of options, and the range where original formulation becomes commercially viable. This is also where MOQ per SKU matters most: a factory quoting a low MOQ on one format may hold a much higher one on another. Sheet masks almost always carry a higher piece count than bottled formats.
Above 100,000 units per SKU. Large ODM groups become cost-competitive, and the constraint shifts from MOQ to scheduling and raw material lead times. Ask how your order slots into the production calendar and what the reorder cycle looks like, since availability of a line matters more than its theoretical capacity.
Two fields to settle in writing at any volume: MOQ per SKU per format, and lead time measured from formula and packaging sign-off rather than from the date of enquiry. Those two definitions are where timelines most often slip. For a fuller breakdown of how volume affects unit cost, see our MOQ and cost guide, and for the cost structure behind a formula, our formulation cost breakdown.
Questions That Separate Suppliers Quickly
Once a shortlist is down to three or four, these questions tend to produce the most decision-relevant answers, and none of them require the supplier to disclose anything confidential.
- Which certificate numbers and issuing bodies apply to the site that would produce my order? Group certifications do not always cover every facility.
- What is the MOQ per SKU for my specific format, and will it appear in the contract?
- Is lead time counted from sign-off or from enquiry, and what is included in that window? Confirm whether stability testing runs inside or outside it.
- Which regulatory documents can you provide for my target market, and which must come from a third party? A factory cannot sign certain dossier components on a brand's behalf, and a supplier who says so plainly is being accurate rather than unhelpful.
- Does the factory market its own consumer brands in my category? A neutral question with real commercial implications either way.
- What testing runs in-house versus at an external lab, and is that lab accredited?
For a structured version of this process, our buyer's checklist covers the sequence in more detail, and stability testing scope explains what should sit inside a quoted lead time.
Since those six questions are only useful if someone answers them, here are ours, in order: the certificates are issued by Intertek and cover the site that would run your order, numbers supplied on request; MOQ is 3,000 bottles or jars per SKU and goes into the contract; lead time is 35–45 days counted from formula and packaging sign-off, with accelerated stability testing running inside that window; we prepare the technical dossier and hand over specifications, and we say plainly that a Responsible Person in the EU and a local licence holder in most ASEAN markets must come from your side, not ours; we run no consumer brands of our own, so we are not competing with you on shelf; and routine testing is in-house with third-party verification at an accredited lab where a market requires it.
Compare those answers with the nine other replies rather than with this article. A supplier who answers all six in one message is showing you how the next twelve months of communication will run, and that is worth more than any single figure in the table.
Where We Fit, and Where We Don't
Held to the same five fields as every entry above, and with the same disclosure: we are one of the manufacturers a buyer might shortlist, so treat this section as our own stated facts rather than an independent assessment.
We run 13 production lines with a stated capacity of 200,000 units daily in Guangzhou, with in-house formulation development. We are not the largest factory on this list, and brands needing seven-figure monthly volumes are better served by the large ODM groups above.
Certifications: ISO 22716, GMPC, ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 45001, Halal, with certificates issued by Intertek and annual surveillance audits. SGS testing supported on request. Certificate numbers are available on request, and we would encourage you to verify them the same way you would verify anyone else's.
MOQ: 3,000 bottles or jars per SKU for most skincare formats, and 5,000 to 10,000 sheets for sheet masks. Sampling: 5 to 7 days on an existing formula, 10 to 15 days for custom development with stability data. Production: 35 to 45 days for basic formats and 45 to 55 days for serums and creams, counted from formula and packaging sign-off.
Category focus: active-led skincare where export documentation matters. Actives are specified as a baseline plus a working range with the governing regulatory ceiling named rather than a single fixed number, and the applicable ceiling is confirmed against your destination market before sampling. Where two actives cannot share a stable pH window, we say so and propose a derivative or a separate format instead.
Regulatory documentation: we maintain published technical guidance on Thailand TFDA notification, Indonesia BPOM registration, Philippines FDA CPN, Vietnam, and the ASEAN Cosmetic Directive, because a large share of our export volume goes to those markets. The same documentation work applies to Australia, the Gulf, and Korea, where we also ship.
What to confirm with us: our scale relative to your growth plan, and whether 10 to 15 days of custom sampling fits your launch calendar, since working from stock formulas is faster. Both are fair questions to put to us, and we would rather answer them before a project starts than after.
Comparing shortlisted factories?
Send us the formula brief and target markets you are working with. We will come back with the applicable regulatory ceiling for each active in your target markets, an MOQ, and a lead time, so you have one concrete quote to compare the rest of your shortlist against.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who is the best private label skincare manufacturer in China?
There is no single answer, and any supplier claiming the title about itself is worth reading sceptically. The right factory depends on your order size per SKU, whether you need original formulation or a ready-made base, your target market's regulatory requirements, and your category. A factory optimised for two million sheet masks a day and one built for active-led serums at 5,000 units are not competing for the same brief.
Why do so few Chinese manufacturers publish their MOQ?
MOQ varies by format, packaging, and raw material availability, so a single published figure would be wrong for most enquiries. A serum in a stock bottle and the same serum in custom packaging can carry different minimums, because the packaging component often sets the floor. Treat an unpublished MOQ as normal, ask for it per SKU and per format, and get it into the contract.
How do I verify a factory's certifications?
Ask for the certificate number, the issuing body, the scope, and the expiry date, then check it against the issuing body's own register. Confirm that the scope covers the specific site that would produce your order, since group-level certifications do not always extend to every facility. A website logo, an image of a certificate, and a valid registration on the issuer's database are three different levels of evidence.
Does a longer certification list mean a better factory?
Not necessarily. Certificate lists mix categories: product and process standards such as ISO 22716, management-system standards such as ISO 9001, and social compliance audits such as BSCI or SEDEX. A long list may contain few certificates relevant to your market, while a shorter list may contain exactly the ones you need. Match the list to your destination market's requirements rather than counting entries.
How do I check a factory's claims before placing an order?
Work through the three evidence classes in order. Certificate numbers can be checked against the issuing body's own register at no cost, so start there and treat a refusal as an answer in itself. MOQ, lead time, sampling time, and capacity cannot be confirmed from outside, so ask for them on letterhead as part of the quotation and watch whether the figures stay consistent between the website, the email, and the contract. Formulation quality cannot be verified on paper at all — that is what samples and, for larger programmes, a line-specific audit are for.
What should the MOQ be for a first skincare launch?
For a first launch, the relevant question is not the lowest MOQ available but the lowest one you can sell through. Ordering 500 units of a formula you cannot reorder consistently creates a supply gap the moment it sells; ordering 20,000 of an untested concept ties up capital. Most first launches settle between 1,000 and 5,000 units per SKU depending on format, with sheet masks higher because piece economics differ.
Can a factory handle my target market's registration for me?
Partly, and the boundary matters. A manufacturer can supply the technical dossier components that come from production: formula disclosure, specifications, GMP evidence, stability and safety test data, and certificates of analysis. Some filings require a local responsible person or importer of record in the destination market, which a factory outside that market legally cannot be. Ask which documents come from the factory and which you must arrange locally, before timelines are set.
How long does a private label skincare project take end to end?
Sampling runs roughly 5 to 7 days on an existing formula and 10 to 15 days for custom development with stability data. Production typically runs 35 to 45 days for basic formats and 45 to 55 days for serums and creams, counted from formula and packaging sign-off rather than from first enquiry. Registration timelines in the destination market run in parallel and are frequently the longest item, so confirm whether testing sits inside or outside the quoted window.
Ready to Start Your Project?
Tell us your product requirements. Our technical team responds within 24 hours with a detailed quotation.